Oh what a day. 
I have now arrived in Arcata and I feel amazing! 
Today has passed by so incredibly quickly and I am right now in my bed, dead tired, freshly showered, drinking my decaffeinated Earl Grey tea I accidentally bought and munching on some Americone Dream Ben & Jerry's.
My covers are so insanely comfortable that I am falling asleep already.
 
The flight to Arcata went fast, but I had this steady feeling of nervousness - especially when landing.
I think it was just the entire concept of finally being here.
 
At the airport I was picked up by a girl named Courtney, who was picking up all the International Students at the airport. I was the only one she had to pick up, so we headed off to Humboldt State University and got me sorted with my  and everything. 
 My cards and keys and a little bag I got from the university
And this is the house where I live in
The second floor is our floor
The outside of my door - I am here known as Linda given that it is my first name in my passport and so on 
I also got the cutest little survival kit with noodles and candy
And this is my room! 
Woop woop
After introducing me to my apartment, Courtney was kind enough to take me to the foodstore so I could do some basic grocery shopping.
This is always as entertaining for me, to walk around in American food stores, and I seemed to entertain Courtney as well with all my remarks and "wows" and "whats" about the selection of products available.
Which one would you choose if you could pick? 
The results were very positive. 
Courtney took me not only to the foodstore, but also to another place so I could get plates and I got to see her house. She told me there were skunks in the backyard, and I thought she meant she had them as pets.
But no, they were wild little trespassers who would try to spray me if I approached them. 
She even gave me cutlery and pans to borrow for my stay here, and not just one or two but an entire bag full.
I can definitely say I am sorted.
 
When we came back one of my flatmates had moved in, Laura.
She is 18 and from Los Angeles beginning her first year here at HSU.
She had come over with her parents and we have been hanging out all afternoon, unpacking and so on.
Her mom cooked us Mexican for dinner and it was absolutely amazing! So much flavour and ah. 
Really really tasty. 
I think I still have a bit of jet-lag and also I slept so poorly last night that I am absolutely shattered right now. Wah.
Definitely gonna need this sleep which I feel is approaching.
 
A couple of guys from upstairs came and said hello earlier on in the evening and they are gonna come tomorrow and pick me up before 1pm for our International Orientation around the campus area and so on. 
Gonna be so much fun to look around.
The nature here is incredible. 
Anyways, I hope you enjoyed the first little peak of Arcata. 
I can definitely say that I did.
 

Kommentera

Publiceras ej